Top facts about Passover Seder for Kids

Passover is a very special time in the Jewish calendar, which celebrates the freeing of Jewish slaves in Egypt over 3000 years ago. The Seder is the name for the traditional dinner eaten on Passover, which hasn’t changed for thousands of years.

In 2023 Passover will begin on the evening of the 5th April and last until the 13th April

What do we eat at Passover Seder?

Seder plates, or Ka’rahs, such as the examples seen here //, are used to serve the Passover feast. They’re divided into different sections with each one holding a special item that has a connection to the story of Passover.

Image Credit

1. The most important foods served on the seder plate are matzah and maror. Matzah are flatbread made out of water and flour (which had to be made quickly as the Jews rushed to escape Egypt). Maror are bitter horseradish roots, which symbolise the bitter suffering the Jews endured when they were slaves in Egypt.
2. Karpas (a green vegetable such as parsley or onion) is dipped into salt water at the beginning of the meal. This reflects the salt water tears that Jews cried when they were slaves.
3. Haroset is a mixture of chopped apples, walnuts, and red wine. It represents the bricks and mortar used by the slaves in Egypt to build the pyramids.
4. Hazaret is lettuce, which is eaten with matzah and maror.
5. Beitzah is a hard boiled egg which reminds Jews of the traditional offering brought to the Temple in Jerusalem before it was destroyed. It’s also a symbol of new life.
6. You’ll also see a roasted bone on the seder plate. Known as Zeroah, this also represents the Pesach offerings that used to be made at the Holy Temple in Jerusalem.

Image Credit

How to celebrate Passover Seder

1. The Haggadah is a special text which tells the story of the Passover and outlines the 15 steps (all of which rhyme) that are involved in celebrating the meal.
2. During the meal, four cups of wine (or juice!) are drunk. Wine is also split on the table to represent the ten plagues sent to Egypt.
3. During the seder, the story of the Exodus is told, and the six foods are eaten in a specific order. The Seder will finish by midnight.

However you’re celebrating, we hope you have a Chag Sameach (Happy Festival)!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.